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WAYFAIR MENTIONED FAVORABLY
SOUTH DAKOTA SB 106 FEATURES

• “Safe harbor” for small sellers 

• $100,000 or less sales per year, or

• Less than 200 transactions per year

• No retroactive liability 

• South Dakota is a member state in the 

Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement 

(SSUTA)



SOUTH DAKOTA-STYLE ECONOMIC 
NEXUS STATUTES IMPLEMENTED

• Indiana (litigation resolved—Dept. enforcing eff. 10/1/18) 

• Maine (Tax Alert published 8/9/18—eff. 7/1/18)

• North Dakota (eff. 10/1/18—Dept. announcement)

• Vermont (eff. 7/1/18—Dept. announcement)

• Illinois (HB 3342 eff. 10/1/18)

• Hawaii—general excise tax (SB 2542 eff. 7/1/18)

• Kentucky (HB 487 Dept. announced eff. 10/1/18)

• New Jersey (A.4496 eff. 11/1/18)

• South Dakota (S.B. 1 eff. 11/1/18)

• Threshold: >$100,000 in sales/yr. or 200 transactions/yr.



SOUTH DAKOTA-STYLE ECONOMIC 
NEXUS STATUTES TO BE IMPLEMENTED

• Iowa (SF 2417 eff. 1/1/19)

• Louisiana (HB 17 eff. 1/1/19--Dept. bulletin 18-001)

• Wyoming (litigation pending)

• Utah (S.B. 2001 eff. 1/1/19)

• Connecticut (SB 417 $250,000 and 200 

transactions/yr. eff. 12/1/18)



ECONOMIC NEXUS REGULATIONS 
IMPLEMENTED

• Alabama reg ($250,000 sales/yr)(Department statement 
dated 7/3/18 indicates intent to enforce prospectively 
starting 10/1/18)

• Maryland COMAR 03.06.01.33 reg (>$100,000 sales or 
200 transactions/yr., eff. 10/1/18)

• Mississippi reg ($250,000 sales/yr, effective 9/1/18—
guidance published 8/6/18)

• Nevada reg (>$100,000 sales/yr. or 200 transactions/yr., 
eff. 10/1/18—Legis. Commission approved)

• South Carolina Rev Ruling # 18-14 (>$100,000 sales/yr. 
eff. 11/1/18)

• Washington (emer. reg. 9/26/18 requiring remote sellers 
w/>$100,000 sales or 200 or more transactions to collect, 
eff. 10/1/18)



ECONOMIC NEXUS REGULATIONS NOT 
YET IMPLEMENTED

• Tennessee reg ($500,000 sales/yr—litigation 

pending, legislature must approve)

• Texas draft reg (>$500,000 sales/yr., proposed eff. 

1/1/19, but postponing collection requirement until 

10/1/19)



MORE STATES THAT HAVE 
IMPLEMENTED REMOTE SELLER 

COLLECTION POST-WAYFAIR

• Michigan (Bulletin 2018-16-- require remote sellers 
w/>$100,000 sales or 200 transactions to collect, eff. 
10/1/18)

• Minnesota (require remote sellers w/>$100,000 sales and 
10 transactions, or 100 transactions to collect, eff. 
10/1/18)

• North Carolina (guidance published 8/6/18 requiring
remote sellers w/>$100,000 sales or 200 or more 
transactions to collect, eff. 11/1/18)

• Wisconsin (Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
emergency rule requiring remote sellers w/>$100,000 
sales or 200 or more transactions to collect effective 
10/1/18)



MORE STATES IMPLEMENTING POST-
WAYFAIR REMOTE SELLER COLLECTION

• Colorado (news release published 9/13/18 requiring 

remote sellers w/>$100,000 sales or 200 or more 

transactions to collect commencing 12/1/18)

• Nebraska (FAQ--- require remote sellers 

w/>$100,000 sales and 10 transactions, or 100 

transactions to collect, eff. 1/1/19)

• West Virginia (notice posted 10/1/18 requires remote 

sellers w/>$100,000 sales or 200 transaction to 

collect, eff. 1/1/19)



COLORADO-STYLE NOTICE AND 
REPORTING LAWS

• Colorado

• Georgia (HB 61 collect if $250,000 sales/200 trans. or report eff. 1/1/19) 
• Kentucky (notice only) 
• Louisiana 
• Minnesota 
• Oklahoma (HB 1019XX remote sellers, referrers, marketplaces collect if 

$10,000 sales or report eff. 7/1/18) 

• Pennsylvania (notice only) 
• Rhode Island (collect if $100,000 sales/200 trans. or report eff. 8/17/17) 
• Tennessee (notice only)
• Vermont 
• Washington (collect or report if sales/yr. between $10,000 and $100,000 

eff. 10/1/18)

• Various thresholds



CLICK-THROUGH NEXUS STATES

• AR CA CO CT GA IL KS LA ME MI MN MO NC NV NY 

OH PA RI TN VT WA

• New: ID (HB 578 $10,000 sales threshold, eff. 7/1/18) 

• Various thresholds (most use $10,000 or more in 

annual sales to customers in the state)

• Click-through nexus now irrelevant? See Robert D. 

Plattner, “After Wayfair: Saying Goodbye to Click-

Through Nexus,” Tax Analysts State Tax Notes (10/1/18)



COOKIE NEXUS

Massachusetts Reg 830 CMR 64 H.1.7 $500,000 sales 

and 100 transactions/yr. threshold eff. 10/1/17; 

challenge pending in Virginia Circuit Court 

(Crutchfield Corp. v. Harding, No. CL 1700145-00) 

Ohio Rev. Code § 5741.01(I)(2)(i) $500,000 sales 

threshold; challenge pending in American Catalog 

Merchants Association v. Testa, Ohio district court

Iowa S. F. 2417 $100,000/yr. sales or 200 trans./yr. eff. 

1/1/19



MARKETPLACE FACILITATOR AS 
COLLECTOR/REPORTER LAWS

• Alabama (HB 470 collect if sales/yr $250,000 or report eff. 1/1/19)

• Connecticut (SB 417 collect/referrer report if sales/yr $250,000 + 200 trans 
eff. 12/1/18)

• Iowa (SF 2417 collect/referrer report if sales/yr $100,000/200 trans eff. 
1/1/19)

• Minnesota (news release published 7/25/18--collect eff. 10/1/18 if place of 
business in MN)

• New Jersey (A. 4496 collect if sales/yr >$100,000/200 trans eff. 11/1/18)
• Oklahoma (HB 1019XX collect if sales/yr $10,000 or report eff. 7/1/18)
• Pennsylvania (collect or report)
• Rhode Island (collect or report if sales/yr $100,000/200 trans)
• South Carolina (Amazon litigation pending; draft ruling collect if sales/yr

>$250,000 effective upon earlier of physical presence or 10/1/18)
• South Dakota (SB 2 collect if sales/yr >$100,000/200 trans eff. 3/1/19)
• Washington (collect eff. 1/1/18)



MARKETPLACE FACILITATORS 
COLLECTING IN WA, PA, OK

• Amazon and Etsy commenced collection of 

sales/use tax on behalf of third-party sellers on sales 

to Washington, pursuant to H.B. 2163. Amazon and 

Etsy have also commenced collecting on behalf of 

third-party sellers on sales to Pennsylvania and 

Oklahoma.

• eBay will commence collecting sales/use tax on 

sales into WA effective 1/1/19, and PA and OK 

effective 7/1/19.



CA/NY/MA/RI/SC REQUESTS FOR 
AMAZON MARKETPLACE SELLER DATA

• Amazon is complying with CA and NY requests for 

data on its marketplace sellers.

• Amazon has complied with a similar request from 

MA.

• Amazon is providing to RI marketplace seller 

identification data, pursuant to its 2017 legislation. 

• In Amazon Services LLC v. South Carolina 

Department of Revenue, the Department is seeking 

a list of Amazon’s online marketplace sellers, and 

Amazon is in the process of producing that list.



SALES TAX STATES NOT YET 
PUBLISHING WAYFAIR GUIDANCE

• AZ AR CA DC FL KS MO NM NY VA
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